Your browser is no longer supported

To get the best experience, we suggest using a newer version of Internet Explorer/Edge, or using another supported browser such as Google Chrome.

Established in 1971 by the Governing Council which oversees the affairs of the University of Toronto, the College of Electors is responsible for electing the University’s Chancellor and the eight alumni members of the Governing Council. The 47 College members are elected or appointed by U of T’s alumni associations and serve a four-year term that begins on July 1. College members must acquaint themselves with how the Governing Council and its Boards and Committees function and what is required from its alumni governors.

The College of Electors meets five times a year for two hours. Victoria has three representatives on the College of Electors. Currently they are Cynthia Elson Vic 6T5, Lisa Taillefer Vic 9T5 and Paul Haynes Vic 9T9. For more information, you may go to the College of Electors’ website and also contact the Vic Alumni Association at